Skip to content

QMCECS Seminar: Michèle Cohen: 12 February 2014

February 5, 2014

Wednesday 12 February 2012

Michèle Cohen 

(Richmond University in London and the Institute of Education, University of London)

‘A Passion for Colloquial Discussion’: conversation and education at home in the long-eighteenth century’

Michèle Cohen is Professor of History at Richmond American International University in London. She works on education, gender and national character, with particular focus on conversation and domestic education in the long eighteenth century. She is the author of Fashioning masculinity: national identity and language in the eighteenth century (1996).

Chair: Markman Ellis

Time: 5.00-7.00pm.

Venue: Seminar Room, Lock-Keeper’s Cottage Graduate Centre, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End, London, E1 4NS.

Note that this seminar may be disrupted by industrial action on the underground. Further information will be circulated on 11 Feb.

Convenors: Prof Markman Ellis, English (m.ellis@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Colin Jones, History (c.d.h.jones@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Miles Ogborn, Geography (m.j.ogborn@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Amanda Vickery, History (a.vickery@qmul.ac.uk), Prof Barbara Taylor, English and History (b.g.taylor@qmul.ac.uk), Prof John Barrell, English (j.barrell@qmul.ac.uk).

[Travel instructions: Central Line or District Line to Mile End. Exit tube station, turn left down Mile End Road, cross Burdett Road, go under the Mile End Green Bridge (a large yellow bridge), over the canal, and the college is on the left].

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: