Skip to content

QMCECS Seminar: Finola O’Kane: 22 October 2014

October 14, 2014

Queen Mary Eighteenth-Century Studies Seminar 2014-2015

Wednesday 22 October 2014

Finola O’Kane
(School of Architecture, University College Dublin)

Reversing the Route: Counter-Revolutionary Tours of post-1798 Ireland

Finola O’Kane studies the designed landscape history of Ireland and of the Atlantic world, with a particular interest in its cultural, political and aesthetic dimensions. Her first book, Landscape Design in Eighteenth-Century Ireland (Cork University Press 2004), was awarded the inaugural J.B. Jackson Book Prize by The Foundation for Landscape Studies, New York in 2007. Her most recent book, Ireland and the Picturesque (Yale University Press 2013) is a brilliant study of the politics of landscape in Ireland between 1700-1830, focusing particularly on the interaction of landscape design, landscape painting and landscape tourism.

Chair: John Barrell

Time: 5.00-7.00pm.

Venue: Seminar Room, Lock-Keeper’s Cottage Graduate Centre, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End, London, E1 4NS.

Convenors: Prof Markman Ellis, English (m.ellis@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Colin Jones, History (c.d.h.jones@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Miles Ogborn, Geography (m.j.ogborn@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Amanda Vickery, History (a.vickery@qmul.ac.uk), Prof Barbara Taylor, English and History (b.g.taylor@qmul.ac.uk), Prof John Barrell, English (j.barrell@qmul.ac.uk).

[Travel instructions: Central Line or District Line to Mile End. Exit tube station, turn left down Mile End Road, cross Burdett Road, go under the Mile End Green Bridge (a large yellow bridge), over the canal, and the college is on the left].

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: