Skip to content

QMCECS Seminar: Nicole Pohl: Wednesday 28 January 2015

January 19, 2015

All welcome

Queen Mary Eighteenth-Century Studies Seminar 2014-2015

Wednesday 28 January 2015

Nicole Pohl

(Oxford Brookes University)

Of Balloons and Foreign Worlds: Mary Hamilton’s Utopianism

Nicole Pohl works on eighteenth-century English literature with a particular interest in women’s letters and literature, European literary networks and utopias. She is the author of Women, Space and Utopia 1600-1800 (2006) and the editor of The Letters of Sarah Scott (2013), The Cambridge Companion to Utopian Literature (2010), Gender and Utopia in the Eighteenth Century (2007) and Female Communities, 1600-1800 (2000).

Chair: Markman Ellis

Time: 5.00-7.00pm.

Venue: Seminar Room, Lock-Keeper’s Cottage Graduate Centre, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End, London, E1 4NS.

Convenors: Prof Markman Ellis, English (m.ellis@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Colin Jones, History (c.d.h.jones@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Miles Ogborn, Geography (m.j.ogborn@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Amanda Vickery, History (a.vickery@qmul.ac.uk), Prof Barbara Taylor, English and History (b.g.taylor@qmul.ac.uk), Prof John Barrell, English (j.barrell@qmul.ac.uk).

[Travel instructions: Central Line or District Line to Mile End. Exit tube station, turn left down Mile End Road, cross Burdett Road, go under the Mile End Green Bridge (a large yellow bridge), over the canal, and the college is on the left].

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: