Skip to content

Queen Mary Eighteenth-Century Studies Seminar: Programme 2015-16

September 17, 2015

Please forward this invitation to any interested people. The seminar is open to all. Email us if you would like to be added to the mailing list.

Semester One 2015-16

14 October: Tita Chico (University of Maryland, College Park, MD): ‘Bad Science: A Literary History’ [Chair: Markman Ellis]

28 October: Farid Azfar (Swarthmore College, PA): ‘Regions of the Ship: Assiento Capitalism and the Floating Island of Portobello’ [Chair: Miles Ogborn].

11 November: Rowan Boyson (King’s College London): ‘The Olfactory Imagination’ [Chair: Markman Ellis]

25 November: John Barrell (QMUL): ‘The Meeting of the Waters’ [Chair: Markman Ellis]

9 December: Colin Jones (QMUL): ‘Maximilien Robespierre and a Life in a Day of the French revolution’ [Chair: Amanda Vickery]

Semester Two 2015-16

3 February: Matthew McCormack (University of Northampton): ‘Tall histories: height and Georgian masculinities’ [Chair: Amanda Vickery]

2 March: Hannah Barker (University of Manchester): ‘Tradesmen in Love’ [Chair: Amanda Vickery]

16 March: Sara Pennell (Roehampton University): ‘Nothing of importance ever happened in a kitchen’ [Chair: Amanda Vickery]

Time: 5.00-7.00pm.

Venue: Seminar Room, Lock-Keeper’s Cottage Graduate Centre, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End, London, E1 4NS.

Convenors: Prof Markman Ellis, English (m.ellis@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Colin Jones, History (c.d.h.jones@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Miles Ogborn, Geography (m.j.ogborn@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Amanda Vickery, History (a.vickery@qmul.ac.uk), Prof Barbara Taylor, English and History (b.g.taylor@qmul.ac.uk), Prof John Barrell, English (j.barrell@qmul.ac.uk).

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: