Skip to content

QMCECS Seminar: Farid Azfar (Swarthmore): 28 October

October 21, 2015

Wednesday 28 October 2015

Farid Azfar
(Swarthmore College, PA)

Regions of the Ship: Assiento Capitalism and the Floating Island of Portobello

Farid Azfar (History, Swarthmore) is a cultural historian of the Enlightenment, specializing in London, empire, and sexuality in the 1720s, with additional interests in rivers, time, the Indian Ocean World and queer theory. His work has been published in The Journal of British Studies, Historical Reflections/Réflexions Historiques, The London Journal and The Eighteenth Century: Theory and Interpretation. He is currently working on a book on the South Sea Company, from which his seminar will be drawn.
Chair: Miles Ogborn

Time: 5.00-7.00pm.

Venue: Seminar Room, Lock-Keeper’s Cottage Graduate Centre, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End, London, E1 4NS.

The seminar is open to all.

Convenors: Prof Markman Ellis, English (m.ellis@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Colin Jones, History (c.d.h.jones@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Miles Ogborn, Geography (m.j.ogborn@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Amanda Vickery, History (a.vickery@qmul.ac.uk), Prof Barbara Taylor, English and History (b.g.taylor@qmul.ac.uk), Prof John Barrell, English (j.barrell@qmul.ac.uk).

[Travel instructions: Central Line or District Line to Mile End. Exit tube station, turn left down Mile End Road, cross Burdett Road, go under the Mile End Green Bridge (a large yellow bridge), over the canal, and the college is on the right. The Lock-Keeper’s Cottage is on Westfield Way, the third building on the right from Mile End Rd].

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: