Skip to content

QMCECS Seminar Semester One 2019-20

September 16, 2019

All welcome.

Please forward this blog post to anyone who might be interested.

1 October 2019: Penelope Corfield (RHUL): ‘Change within Change: The Decline of the Deep Bow/Curtsey and the Rise of the Egalitarian Handshake in Eighteenth-Century Britain’ (Chair: Amanda Vickery)

15 October 2019: Robbie Richardson (Kent): ‘Unwitnessing Meaning: British Understandings of Wampum in the Eighteenth Century’ (Chair: Miles Ogborn)

29 October 2019: Sophie Gee (Princeton): ‘Communion, Communication and Sacrifice in Tom Jones’ (Chair: Markman Ellis)

26 November 2019: Tess Somervell (Leeds): ‘The Doubting Plowman: Climate and Contingency in Eighteenth-Century Georgic Poetry’ (Chair: Will Bowers)

Time: Semester One: 6.00-8.00pm. Note change from our usual time.

Location: ArtsTwo 2.17, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End, London, E1 4NS.

 

Semester Two

28 January 2020: Hannah Williams (QMUL)

25 February 2020: Gillian Russell (York)

10 March 2020: James Morland (QMUL Solitude Project)

24 March 2020: Stephanie O’Rourke (St Andrews)

Titles to be confirmed. 5.00-7.00pm.

 

Convenors: Prof Markman Ellis, English (m.ellis@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Colin Jones, History (c.d.h.jones@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Miles Ogborn, Geography (m.j.ogborn@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Amanda Vickery, History (a.vickery@qmul.ac.uk); Prof Barbara Taylor, English and History (b.g.taylor@qmul.ac.uk); Dr Will Bowers, English (will.bowers@qmul.ac.uk); Dr Hannah Williams, History (hannah.williams@qmul.ac.uk).

Travel instructions: take the Central Line or District Line to Mile End. Exit the tube station, turn left down Mile End Road, crossing the Burdett Road/Grove Road intersection, passing under the Mile End Green Bridge and over the canal, to the campus entrance at Westfield Way. Turn first Entering campus here, turn first left, pass along the back of ArtsOne, the Law building and the Novo cemetery, to find ArtsTwo, the School of History building.

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: